How to sleep almost anywhere in Italy for around $10 a night

To kick off my blogging debut I’m sharing my favorite way to sleep in Italy (on a budget that is). I’ve done the hostel thing plenty of times, and while some hostels are truly an experience in themselves, sometimes I look for other alternatives. Ones that allow me more space and privacy, while still saving the same amount of money. A little more adventure doesn’t hurt either. If you’re up for the challenge, almost every city in Italy has a suburb or outskirt with campsites. If like me, you come from a camping friendly state (like Washington) you may be inclined to have a pre-conceived notion of what camping means. Italy, however, does camping differently. So lets take a look at some benefits and disadvantages:

Luxury While same campgrounds are as basic as a plot of land in someone’s back yard, others are full on resorts. I’ve stayed in some places with fancy restaurants and clubs. There were beachfront camping, camps in Roman ruins and deteriorated ancient castle grounds. There are camping villages, with on-site water parks and concerts. It’s truly amazing.

Price Prices varies, and often are on par or lower than what hostels are charging. Go on the off-season, and I’ve seen prices drop as low as 6 Euros per tent. However it should be noted that they are usually situated in the outskirts of the city which could mean extra transportation, and extra cash spent.

Location The location of many of these grounds can either be a hassle or a benefit. Since a campground usually needs a large yard, most of these places are situated a good 10 minutes (at the very least) walking distance away from the heart of the city. While some even require taking a tram or train to the outskirts. While this presents obvious hassles, I personally love getting off the beaten path and seeing the city as a whole. I love taking the tram at the end of the day with the rest of the 9 to 5-ers as they make their way home. While more transportation or walking is involved, and could be an annoyance for anyone on a tight schedule, the benefit of seeing the rural or suburban side of a famous city like Venice is surprisingly delightful.pin it

Temperature Sleeping outside usually means cooler nights, so having the right gear is essential. For me, a sweater and blanket is just the thing. However, I don’t think I would attempt this in the winter time. As an added benefit, a campground I once visited in Rome had a swimming pool. As impressed as  I was when I discovered this, I didn’t think I’d spend a minute away from the piazzas and museums in downtown Rome.  That is until I spent a day in September in downtown Rome. A scorching, sweltering, hot September in Rome. Crowds and intense heat left ME dripping in sweat with visions of crisp swimming pools on my crawl back to my home base.

Tents Maybe you’re not a camper? Maybe you didn’t bring a tent? Who wants to even pack a tent? Have no fear! Most camp sites are equipped with  their own campers, furnished tents, and even little bungalows equipped with kitchens and bathrooms. Not to mention, many of the larger ones also have cafe’s and markets with their own camping goods for sale. I was able to find this little pride and joy for 15 Euros in Florence:

575819_3703522341259_337716168_n
My tent in Italy

This beauty was my home for a month. She fit easily in my bag and meant that since I didn’t have to pay to rent a tent I only paid around 10 euro a night (for 2 people!) for a land plot.

Food As previously stated, many campsites have their own restaurants, but eating out every day takes a toll on your wallet. I crave cooking and eating homemade meal every once in a while as well. In the same little shop I got my tent, I also grabbed a camping stove, pot, oil, an other cheap essentials (including a bottle of red wine for you know, cooking) all for about 25 Euros. While this was a bit pricey to start out with, having this equipment meant that while I was out exploring the marbled, windy streets of the city I could slip into little artisan shops and pick up homemade pastas, meats, cheeses, and sauces. All for some pocket change. This really brought a whole new culinary experience to my trip, one that felt more authentic and adventurous. Here I am stove top cookin’:

269202_3676479545206_873583356_n

Privacy I guess how much privacy you get is subjective to your location and budget. Not unlike  hostels, some campgrounds are packed like sardines. Some offer ample space for cartwheels. Overall I always find the benefits overshadow any hindrance. Even roughing it a little at time makes for a more adventurous trip. After an exhausting (and HOT) day sight-seeing, I always looked forward to my little oasis from the city. Have any of you, dear readers, ever tried camping in Italy? I’d love to hear your thoughts!


Some of my camping picks: Plus Camping Michelangelo Viale Michelangelo 80, 50125 Florence, Italy Situated on a hill with the most stunning view of the city, this large campground is a steep hike , but worth every step up. Camping Castel San Pietro Via Castel San Pietro, 2 – 37129  Verona, Italy Another camp ground above the city, This spot has enough charm to be a destination all it’s own. A great place to save money, and make friends on one of their romantic terraces. Camping San Nicolo Via dei Sanmicheli, 14 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy Don’t expect any bells and whistles with this one. While the grounds themselves are as basic as they come, San Nicolo is located on a little quaint island off of Venice. Take the water taxi (running 24 hours) back and forth as you please, and rent a bike in Lido city center for your stay. Another surprise: On the other side of the island (a quick bike trip away) lies a gorgeous beach full of nightlife and fun.

Secret beach in Venice, Italy

320374_3765649374396_325871765_n

Pin this article:

4 thoughts on “How to sleep almost anywhere in Italy for around $10 a night

Leave a comment